Spice Muffins with Cinnamon Sugar Topping

Long time no post. I have been really slack about cooking lately. Work has been busy, New Years Eve came and went, there was lots of going out with friends, not too much time spent in the kitchen. Of the few things I did make, I was even more slack about writing down a recipe or taking any pictures. I whipped up some garlic balsamic chicken and couscous and a pasta with a creamy tomato sauce, when I make them again I’ll have to be better about blogging ( I am serial recipe repeater, so they will be made again).

Tonight I couldn’t take it anymore, I had to bake something yummy. Enter Cinnamon Sugar Muffins.

Muffins

These things taste like a mixture between spice cake and donuts, they are super easy to make (the lazy woman’s dream) and they are really tasty.

20140105_212850

I adopted this recipe from one of my favorite places to go for sweet treats, Sally’s Baking Addiction. I saw her recipe for Nutella-Stuffed Cinnamon Sugar Muffins and I couldn’t resist. I didn’t have any nutella on hand, so I made them without and added a bit more spice. It is about as simple as it gets for a muffin recipe. You bake em up, roll em in butter, and top with cinnamon & sugar.

IMG_20140105_224556

Adopted from Sally’s Baking Addiction’s Nutella Stuffed Cinnamon Sugar Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • extra sugar, cinnamon, butter for topping

How to:

  • Cream together butter and sugar (I do this by hand because I don’t have a mixer, which would definitely be easier)
  • In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking powder, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt
  • Add milk, egg, and vanilla extract to the butter/sugar mixture
  • combine wet and dry ingredients
  • scoop batter into muffin tin (I got 6 full cups)
  • Bake at 425F for 5 minutes, then turn the temperature down to 350F and bake for another 15 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the muffin comes out clean
  • Melt extra butter in the microwave and mix sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl
  • After the muffins have cooled for a few minutes, dip the tops in the melted butter and roll in the sugar and cinnamon mixture to get a thick coating
  • Pig out.

20140105_223354

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

