[Quick Recipe] Cilantro Chimichurri

This is a quick one, and the title is a little misleading. Chimichurri is usually made with parsley, but I have tons of cilantro in the house (and I love cilantro), so I opted for a substitute. Also, my sauce ended up looking a little less like chimichurri, and a little more like some other type of sauce, I don’t know I’m not a chef.

The reason being is I didn’t add as much oil as I should have, because it was just me eating and I didn’t want to slather my plate in oil, so I thinned the sauce out with a bit of water. It was still delicious and really easy to make, and really good if you have a bunch of fresh herbs you want to use up.

20140213_184404

Ingredients:

  • Approx 1/2 cup of fresh Cilantro
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 t of vinegar
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • water to to thin

*Note, if you have a nice food processor, you might not need the water. But I use a crappy bullet blender #china4thewin

How To:

  • Literally dump all the ingredients in the processor, and pulse till desired consistency is reached
  • You might want to adjust ingredients per personal taste, aka more or less water, vinegar, garlic, etc…
  • Pig out

20140213_185051

As you can see my sauce went over a plate of chicken and couscous, but let’s be honest, that was just a vehicle to get the chimichurri into my stomach as quickly as possible.  This sauce would probably taste good on everything, not just chicken. I might make it again next time I do stuffed peppers. I have to stop I am getting hungry.

20140213_185158

Also, I know it’s Valentines Day (or at least is already is here in China) and I know food bloggers usually make something chocolatey or heart shaped, but I am holding out on my next dessert recipe because next weekend I will become the proud owner of a stand mixer! Obviously not a KitchenAid (what am I, a millionaire?) but I will be oh-so-happy to not have to cream butter by hand. This is the best part about being an expat, the moving sales! When someone leaves China, my kitchen benefits by whatever I buy from them. Expect many more sweet treats  from me in the coming weeks!

Leave a Reply

