{Eating Out} Caliburger

Last year in March, I went to California for the first time. The weather was great, the people were nice, but most of all, the In-N-Out burger definitely lived up to its reputation. I was only there for 3 days, and when one of my coworkers asked what one true “California” experience I wanted to have, I obviously said In-N-Out without hesitation. Imagine my distress when I had to back to the East coast. Well fellow Shanghai expats, In-N-Out has come to China in the form of CaliBurger.

IMG_20140223_135029

Located on Nanjing West Road, about a 5 minute walk from Jing’an Temple in the basement of 1788 Square, CaliBurger has all the In-N-Out basics. The cheeseburger, the double double, and the animal style fries (called “wild style” at CaliBurger) are all present, but they also have some chicken sandwich options, a seafood basket, and onion rings. Before I went, I was thinking that it would probably be a bit pricey, but it wasn’t at all, just the cheeseburger was a little under $5, but I had to go all out (for the purpose of this review, of course) and get the combo with the wild style fries. It ran me 45 kuai, which is about $7, so I can’t complain.

The ambiance is great with a classic burger joint set up. There is indoor and outdoor seating, which I am definitely going to utilize when it gets warmer. The staff was super friendly, and for all the non-Chinese speakers, CaliBurger is definitely English friendly.

IMG_20140223_151151

20140223_130113

I was not disappointed by CaliBurger. The meat was well seasoned, the veggies were fresh, and the fries were hot. It was a great, high quality fast food meal, a perfect cure for my post-teppanyaki morning headache. For those of you who don’t know, Teppanyaki is an all you can eat, all you can drink, hibachi style Japanese restaurant (emphasis on the all you drink). As you can imagine, after a night of red wine and sake, a cheeseburger and fries is a piece of heaven on earth.

Definitely go try CaliBurger, especially if you are a homesick American from the West coast. Of course nothing can beat the real In-N-Out, but CaliBurger comes pretty close. A little slice of a American food in a sea of noodles and dumplings for a great price.

20140223_125814

3 thoughts on “{Eating Out} Caliburger

Leave a Reply

