Coconut Chickpea Curry

I love a good curry. Ever since I started dating Shiraz (the bf), my curry game has really stepped up. He has some of the best cooking tips and recipes from home. I can’t wait for him to bring me some spices from Kirachi! Tonight I had a curry craving, but I was feeling more a Thai curry than Pakistani, so I busted out my coconut milk and went to work. The end result was Coconut Chickpea Curry, and it was amazing, especially for so few ingredients.

20140305_194102

I have been so lazy lately. I don’t know if it’s the “not really that cold, but still kinda cold” weather, or the stress at work, but I haven’t had the urge the cook the past few days. I bought some fresh veggies a little while ago, and when I have fresh food in the fridge and I know it is gonna go bad, I have to cook it. I hate wasting food, and the inner guilt builds up until I am basically doing the Food Network in my kitchen. I recently saw a recipe for some green coconut curry online, but I don’t have green curry paste, so I made up my own recipe!

20140305_184634

I LOVE curry with coconut milk. The first time I had coconut I was in kindergarten. We were practicing the alphabet, and it was letter “C” day. My teacher brought in a coconut and cut it up for us to try, and I was hooked. Mounds bars, raw coconut, anything with coconut will do. This curry is greatย  because the coconut flavor is definitely there, but the red thai curry paste is nice and spicy for a good balance.

20140305_184652

Ingredients:

  • 1 T canola oil
  • 1/2 medium sweet onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 inch piece of fresh ginger
  • 1/2 can of coconut milk
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 2 T red curry paste
  • 1/2 T of chili paste
  • 1 large bunch of fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp salt

How to:

  • Heat the 1 T of oil over a low flame, and cook the finely chopped onions, ginger, and garlic for 3-4 minutes until soft.
  • Add the curry & chili paste and fry for 1 min, breaking up the paste
  • Add coconut milk and 1 cup of water, bring to a boil
  • Add the remaining 1 cup of water and chickpeas, bring to boil again
  • Simmer for about 20 minutes over a low flame
  • Add large handful of chopped cilantro leaves and stir, turning off heat, season with the salt
  • Serve with rice, naan, or alone
  • Pig out

20140305_193803

This curry is awesome, nice and spicy. I had a left over sweet potato and I served the curry over the potato, since I am trying to cut down on bread and rice. It was a match made in heaven.

20140305_194029

2 thoughts on “Coconut Chickpea Curry

Leave a Reply

