Gouda & Kale Frittata

I have been on such an egg kick lately. One of my favorite egg dishes is quiche, but I have trying to watch my carb intake when I am cooking, so crust is out of the question. A frittata is basically a crust-less quiche, and you can fill it with anything you want. It’s awesome for one of the those “clean out the fridge” meals. I had some gouda cheese and extra kale lying around, so this frittata was born.

IMG_20140311_195532

Gouda cheese is the best. It is mild and creamy, and enhances the flavor whatever it’s cooked into. In this frittata I wanted kale to be the star, so I didn’t use too many ingredients.

20140311_184248

It is finally starting to get warmer here in Shanghai. It has been in the 50’s for about 2 weeks, and should be up in the 60’s starting next week. Frittatas always remind me of a summer brunch, so I guess I am trying to convince myself that it is summer already! Also, work has been super busy, so this was good idea because I’ll have about 3 meals covered by these scrumptious eggs.

20140311_194218

Ingredients:

  • 5 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • A few cups of fresh kale
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 cup shredded gouda cheese
  • Salt & pepper to taste

How To:

  • Separate the kale leaves from the stalks, rinse.
  • Finely chop the garlic and onion, saute in the olive oil for a few minutes until onions are transparent. Add kale and cook a few more minutes until kale starts to get soft
  • In a small bowl, beat the eggs and milk. Add gouda and salt & pepper, whisk again
  • Spread the sauteed veggies on the bottom of the pan, cover with egg/milk/cheese mixture. Top with a few more teaspoons of the cheese
  • Bake in an oven preheated to 380F for about 30 minutes, until cooked all the way through
  • pig out

20140311_194014

20140311_194159

One thought on “Gouda & Kale Frittata

Leave a Reply

