Garam Masala Roasted Chickpeas

I feel like it’s been a month since I’ve posted anything, but it’s only been a week! Last week I organized my company’s participation in a huge electronics trade show here in Shanghai. I spent five days going back and forth between the expo center and my house (which are not close), being on my feet for 10 hours a day, and speaking more Chinese than I previously thought possible.

Because of the busy week, I didn’t have chance to get to the grocery store. I literally lived of steamed buns and fried noodles, a.k.a. the least healthy way to live. I feel like I’ve bloated to the size of a small hippo because of all the salt, so today I finally hit the store and overloaded on veggies.

Before I got up the energy to leave my house though, I got hungry. I scoured the pantry and the only thing I could find was a can of chickpeas, so I roasted them up for a quick snack!

20140322_172313

Roasted chickpeas are the best. I never have snack food in the house, except for the occasional peanut or almond. I really try not to eat the processed stuff, although I will fully admit that I saw a bag of Doritos in a Family Mart a few days ago and totally bought them. But back to the topic at hand, roasted chickpeas are great because you can flavor them however you want. I’ve done them with Cajun seasoning, even salt, pepper & garlic.

20140322_180642

You can eat these right out of your hand like you would nuts or chips, or use them to top a salad for a crunchy element. They can be sweet, savory, or spicy. They are pretty much manna from heaven.

Even though I used several spices, I called these Garam Masala chickpeas because the taste of the cinnamon from the masala is really front and center.

20140322_172329

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 t yellow curry powder
  • 1 t garam masala
  • 1 t cumin
  • sea salt & pepper

How To:

  • Rinse and drain the can of chickpeas, then peel the skins off and discard. (This part is kind of annoying but they turn out much better so just suck it up!)
  • Toss the olive oil and all the spices in a large bowl with the chickpeas
  • Spread chickpeas over a baking sheet and sprinkle a fresh pepper and a little sea salt
  • In a 400F oven, bake for about 40 minutes or to desired crunchiness, stirring a few times throughout
  • Pig out

20140322_180843

A super easy and healthyย  snack, gotta get ready for summer and cut down on the fried noodles ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

