Homemade Hummus

I just discovered one of the secrets of life: homemade hummus is the best kind of hummus. I don’t know how I’ve never made it before, it’s so easy and takes 5 minutes to throw together. For my test run I stuck with the classic recipe, but the possibilities are endless. I am seriously baffled how I have never made hummus before just based on the sheer amount of chickpeas I consume on a weekly basis.

20140409_214656 (400x300)

I know it doesn’t look very classy in the plastic bowl, but practicality prevailed. I needed to put it in the fridge right away to keep myself from eating the whole batch in one go. The ingredient list is so short for a basic hummus recipe. I now predict I will routinely buy my grocery store’s entire stock of canned chickpeas every week.

20140409_213202 (400x300)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup water from can of chickpeas
  • 1 1/2 T tahini
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 t of salt
  • 3 T lemon juice, about 1/2 lemon
  • 2 T olive oil
  • fresh parsley (optional)

How To:

  • Drain and rinse chickpeas, setting aside the water from the can
  • Peel the skin off the chickpeas, this is crucial for a smooth texture don’t skip this step!
  • Add all ingredients to a blender and pulse until smooth, adding a little bit more of the water from the chickpea can if needed
  • Check for seasoning and add more lemon juice or salt if desired
  • Scoop into a serving dish and top with an olive oil drizzle and some fresh parsley
  • Pig out

20140409_213451 (400x300)It really is that easy. The longest step is peeling the chickpeas, after that it takes five minutes. Are you reading this? In five minutes you could have fresh hummus in your belly.

Let me be honest with you guys for a minute, the real reason I made hummus today is that I saw a bag of pita chips when I was shopping on Kate & Kimi for some fresh herbs, and I won’t tell you how much they cost so don’t even ask. I had all the ingredients for hummus, and I had to go for it. There is no better snack that hummus and pita chips! But in all reality you can pretty much use anything as a vehicle for shoveling hummus into your mouth like a caveman.

20140409_214638 (400x300)Also, don’t skimp on the fresh herbs, it really makes a difference. I bought  huge bunches of parsley, mint, and cilantro today so I am going to be flooding the blog with some new, fresh recipes.

I can’t wait to try some variations on this classic, but you’ll have to excuse me for now, I have a bowl of hummus to eat.

 

Leave a Reply

