Vegan Curry Sweet Potato Soup

I love soup. I don’t care if the weather is getting warmer, I will devour a piping hot bowl of soup any day of the week. Plus it is really convenient for me to make a big pot and then eat it for two or three days. Enter: Vegan Curry Sweet Potato Soup. These are two things I love; sweet potatoes and curry powder.  Yellow curry powder is one of my favorite seasonings in the world, it tastes amazing with sweet potatoes so this soup is awesome!

Soup 2 (400x277)

This soup is great because it has like 6 ingredients and is really healthy. Of course I couldn’t just let that happen without a fight so I made some last minute croutons out of a baguette on its last leg to throw on top. They weren’t traditional croutons, no butter and not many herbs. I just ripped up some chunks of the bread, drizzled with olive oil and salt & pepper and toasted until they were crispy. They were actually super delicious on the soup, they soaked up some liquid and had an awesome texture, not like those mass produced croutons that will crack your tooth if you try to bite down.

Cruton (400x300)

I think one reason not many people make a lot of homemade soup is it has a reputation of being an all-day cooking kind of thing. This soup took about 30 minutes, give or take a few. Worth it. And then I ate it for 4 meals in a row. I don’t know why but I just don’t get sick of soup. That and turkey sandwiches (which, by the way, I can’t wait to eat in excess when I visit home next month, yay!)

Soup Overhead (400x300)Ingredients:

  • 1 small yellow onion, peeled and diced
  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 1/2 T yellow curry powder
  • 2 T olive oil
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • 4 cups water + 2 vegetable bouillon cubes (OR 4 cups vegetable broth)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • fresh cilantro
  • croutons (OR crusty bread OR nothing if you’re vegan)

Soup (400x293)How To:

  • Peel and dice onion and sweet potatoes, drain and rinse chickpeas.
  • In a large pot or dutch oven, heat about 2 T olive oil (eyeball it) and saute the onion for a few minutes until translucent.
  • Add the curry powder and a dash of cinnamon and continue cooking for a few more minutes.
  • Add the diced potato and chickpeas, mix well to coat with curry powder and oil.
  • Add 4 cups of liquid (water + bouillon OR vegetable broth) and bring to a boil
  • Reduce heat to med-low, enough to keep a simmer going, cover and cook until potatoes are mashable.
  • Using a hand-held blender, or a traditional blender, blend the soup until it has a creamy consistency. I always leave some chucks in mine for texture.
  • Return to heat and salt to taste, once it is bubbling again it is ready to eat.
  • Top with fresh pepper and cilantro, and croutons if you are doing that.
  • Pig out!

Soup 4 (400x300)

Just looking at this picture is making me hungry, when will I learn not to blog on an empty stomach.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Curry Sweet Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

