Carrot Cake Cookies

So I’ve taken a little break from the blog over the past few weeks, I took a week off work to travel home to the US to see my sister graduate from the College of Charleston and to see a friend of mine get hitched! I only had 7 days to take off from work, and anyone who has hopped the pond knows this is barely enough time to adjust to the time difference, so needless to say I feel like I’m on the precipice of death as I write this blog post.

I actually made these cookies a few weeks ago for a friend who came to visit me in Shanghai. I wanted to put the deliciousness of carrot cake into cookie form. I have to admit, they were not quite “carroty” enough for me. Next time I make them I will probably double the amount of carrot juice in the dough. However, carroty or not, they were still pretty delicious. I would describe them as a sweet, cake-like cookie, perfect for afternoon tea/coffee.

20140430_211247 (400x300)

I used fresh grated carrot and fresh carrot juice, hence the orange color. I also tried to add the spices of a carrot cake. Some of the cookies that didn’t get a lot of carrot flavor almost tasted like a spice cake cookie (which I may or may not be developing a recipe for…with a little cream cheese frosting, yum.)

20140430_182745 (400x300)I love the look of crinkle cookies. Traditionally they are chocolate cookies rolled in powdered sugar, I always make them at Christmas time. I wanted to make these crinkle cookies in lieu of using frosting. I think carrot cake needs the little extra sweetness that frosting provides, but I didn’t have frosting ingredients on hand, so crinkle cookies it was!

20140430_193319 (400x300)

20140430_193438 (400x300)Ingredients:

  • 80 grams of butter at room temperature (this is almost a whole stick)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg at room temperature
  • 2 1/2 T grated carrot
  • 2 T carrot juice (double for a stronger carrot flavor)
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1/4 t ground ginger
  • 1 3/4 cup AP flour
  • powdered sugar for rolling
  • granulated sugar for rolling

20140430_195013 (400x300)

How To:

  • In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking power, and spices. Set aside
  • Finely grate 1 medium sized carrot, set aside the 2 1/2 T and then squeeze the rest for the 2 T of juice.
  • In a mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar for a few minutes until smooth. Add in egg, carrot, and juice and mix until smooth
  • Add in the flour mixture in stages, stirring with a wooden spoon to form the dough.
  • Cover and chill for about an hour.
  • Preheat the oven to 350F (180C) and set out two small bowls, one with powdered sugar and one with granulated sugar.
  • Roll the chilled dough into balls (I used a tablespoon for a scoop) and roll in granulated sugar followed by powdered sugar.
  • Bake for about 10 minutes. Let rest on cookie sheet before moving to cooling rack.
  • Pig out.

20140430_205236 (400x300)

These are awesome with chai, coffee, or a glass of milk. Pretty soon it’s going to be time to turn off my little toaster oven for the summer and stick to desserts that can save me from the oven-like temperatures of July in Shanghai, so I better get my baking in while I can!

 

3 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Cookies

Leave a Reply

