Kitchen Sink Cookies

I have been on a bit of a cookie baking bender lately, but there is only one person to blame: my Mother. She sent me a care package with a massive amount of baking ingredients, one of which was Reese’s baking chips. While I was trying to figure out what to do with these chunks of peanut buttery goodness, I found oats, coconut, & dark chocolate in my pantry and decided to throw them all into a cookie to see what would happen.

What happened was I discovered the yummiest cookie there is and I’ve already baked two batches this week. The old phrase “everything but the kitchen sink” definitely applies here, because I pretty much added everything I had on hand to these babies. Instead of calling them Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chip Dark Chocolate Coconut Cookies, I decided “Kitchen Sink” Cookies was a little easier to say and write 15 times in a blog post.

DSC_3221

Kitchen Sink Cookies

The base for this cookie recipe is pretty simple, and the beauty is that you can pretty much throw in whatever you want. The chunkier the cookie the better. Next time I am definitely adding some m&ms for a little color, and also because m&ms are delicious.

DSC_3260 (1280x857)

Cookie Dough

I am really excited because one of my best friends and one of Shiraz’s best friends are visiting us in Shanghai this weekend, and I have to have baked goods on hand when guests come. I figure if I am going to gain 5 pounds solely from eating cookies, well dammit so is everyone else I come in contact with.

cookie close

The measurements for this recipe may seem strange, but the reason is that I found an awesome cookie recipe on Pinterest a while back and wrote it down, but it had a bunch of ingredients I can’t easily get in China like butterscotch chips and toffee, and it only made 12 cookies. Seeing as how I can eat 12 cookies in one day, I needed to double it. So it seems kind of complicated but it’s not at all.

Also, so worth it. Drool.

DSC_3211 (1280x857)

Dark Chocolate & Coconut

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 6 T sugar*
  • 4 T brown sugar*
  • 1 L egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 11 T of AP flour (weird measurement, I know, but it’s not quite a full cup)
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup (or desired amount) of peanut butter chips
  • 2 Dove dark chocolate bars, chopped (or chocolate chips whatever you prefer)
  • 2-3 T unsweetened shredded coconut

* I have made this recipe with 6 T brown sugar and 4 T white sugar, results are pretty much the same

DSC_3230 (1280x857)

Reese’s baking chips

How To:

  • Using a fork, cream the room temperature butter and both sugars together for a few minutes.
  • In a small bowl, whisk together the egg & vanilla. In another small bowl whisk together the flour, salt, and baking soda
  • Stir the egg & vanilla into the butter and sugar until well combined, then stir in the flour mixture until just incorporated
  • Pour in the remaining ingredients and stir (I usually add a sprinkle of sea salt at this point, because duh)
  • The batter is quite thick and chunky, resist the urge to spoon it directly into your mouth.
  • Drop by the tablespoon onto a baking sheet and bake in a 350F oven for 8-10 minutes, rotating the pan halfway.
  • Every oven is different, check around 8 minutes to not over bake, they are done when the edges start to brown. Mine were perfect at about 9 minutes.
  • Allow the cookies to set on the pan for about 3 minutes, then remove to cool.
  • Pig out.
cookies (1280x909)

Kitchen Sink Cookies

Just look at these beauties. They stayed soft in an air tight container for more than a week, but if you only make one batch they definitely won’t last that long.

Definitely add the sea salt, it really rounds out the already awesome flavor profile of this cookie.

DSC_3325 (1280x857)

Kitchen Sink Cookies

A lot of fun stuff is coming up in Shanghai soon. Fall is my favorite season by far. Even though fall in China isn’t quite as beautiful as fall in the Southern US, I still love the chilly air, Halloween (my favorite holiday) and, of course, all the time off work for Golden Week.  Mid-Autumn Festival is in a few weeks, and I really want to try my hand at making mooncakes. I have never made them before, if anyone has any advice or ideas for a yummy filling send it my way.

Also, a few of you may have seen that my blog was featured as part of City Weekend Shanghai’s ” China’s Best Food Blogs” series. It was really fun to answer these interview questions and talk about why I started this blog. I haven’t had a chance to post the link to my site yet, so here it is for your reading pleasure. I hope you enjoy reading a little bit about me and my life blogging away here in Shanghai!

Leave a Reply

