Cobb Salad + Creamy Honey Mustard Dressing

Cobb Salads are probably my favorite kind of salads. They look beautiful and there is bacon and cheese involved. Also you can pretty much throw whatever you want on a bed of greens in pretty, color-coordinated rows and you have a cobb salad.

The traditional cobb has eggs, avocado, tomato, chicken, onion, bacon & blue cheese. Well, I think raw onions can be really overpowering in salads and there was no blue cheese at the Tesco when I went on my shopping adventure, so I compensated with extra delicious bacon and white cheddar cheese. So yummy.

DSC_3724

Cobb Salad

Summer is coming to a close here in Shanghai. Today is already Mid-Autumn Festival on the lunar calendar, which is celebrated by eating some of the most calorie-laden snacks known to man: moon cakes. These babies are basically red bean or lotus seed paste stuffed pastries with a salted duck egg yolk baked into the middle, and they average about 1000 calories a pop. In order the combat the barrage of moon cakes I was given at work on Friday, I had to go with a salad in order to be able to button my pants.

DSC_3795

Get. In. My. Belly.

I like to make my own salad dressing when I am not just using oil and vinegar to really up the health factor of my salad. Bottled dressings are sugar bombs with ingredients I can’t pronounce, so making your own is the way to go. Making dressing is really easy. I like honey mustard, so I put honey and mustard in a cup, badda bing badda boom dressing (real recipe to follow).

DSC_3683

Creamy Honey Mustard Dressing

I used romaine lettuce because I think it’s the best base when you have a lot of toppings on a salad. It is nice and crisp with almost no detectable flavor (unlike arugula or frisee) so it doesn’t overpower the toppings or dressing.

DSC_3735

up close and personal

Dressing is all about personal preference. You can basically pick some flavors you like, mix them in a bowl, and then taste to adjust. I am a huge honey mustard fan, but I usually find it to be too thick and sweet for a dressing so I usually use it as a dip. When I make my own, I like the make the flavors more savory and the dressing much thinner. These measurements are approximations that you can play around with until you get the exact honey mustard dressing that you like.

Dressing Ingredients:

  • honey (to taste)
  • 2 T dijon mustard
  • 3 T greek yogurt
  • 1-2 t Olive oil
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • sea salt & pepper (to taste)

How To

  1. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and give it a quick whisk
  2. taste and adjust the flavors to your liking
  3. pour over salad and pig out
DSC_3670

dressing in the making

Salad Ingredients:

  • 4-5 cups chopped romaine lettuce
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • 7 or 8 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 4 grilled chicken tenders, cubed
  • 4 hard boiled eggs, chopped
  • 4 pieces of bacon, chopped
  • approx 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
DSC_3705

the calm before the storm

How To:

  1. Wash and dry your lettuce, give it a rough chop and set aside
  2. Season 4 or 5 small chicken tenders with olive oil, salt and pepper, and grill a few minutes on either side. Set aside to cool.
  3. Cook 4 pieces of bacon on med-high heat until desired crispiness, set aside to cool.
  4. While the meats are cooling, chop the tomatoes, avocado, eggs, and shred the cheese.
  5. Once the meat is cool, chop to bite size pieces.
  6. Arrange the toppings over a bed of lettuce in rows.
  7. Pour on dressing and pig out.
closeup salad

Piggin’ out

This salad can serve 4 people quite generously, or if you are me, it can serve 1 person for four meals.

The cheddar and bacon work really well with the honey mustard, but I have a feeling this salad would work with just about any dressing.

DSC_3777

Cobb Salad + Creamy Honey Mustard Dressing

Leave a Reply

