Chewy Brown Sugar Cookies

It has been a long time since I’ve posted. I hope everyone had a good Halloween and ate at least one Butterfinger for me. It’s already halfway through November and I can’t really believe it! I barely had time to bake a loaf of pumpkin bread and it seems like Fall is quickly becoming Winter.

It’s so strange that it’s been almost a year since I ย started blogging, but I still haven’t gotten into a routine of consistent posting. It is way harder than I thought it would be. Life happens and it totally gets in the way of my blogging. Nevertheless, I am back this November with an amazing cookie recipe: Chewy Brown Sugar Cookies.

Stackin' em up

Stackin’ em up

I have been scouring the internet for good cookie recipes lately. With December approaching, it is time to start experimenting with treats for this year’s gift baskets. I always like to to try to give my friends & and family a little box of Christmas goodies. A gift like that is especially meaningful here in China, since baking one batch of cookies takes upwards of four hours (thank you, toaster oven).

Yummm

Yummm

I have seen a recipe for “brown sugar cookies” circulating on Pinterest lately, and when I actually saw the recipe I knew they had to be made. I mean, brown sugar + brown butter is a match made in heaven. Brown butter is so rich and caramely (not a word, I know), I absolutely love including it in recipes whenever I can.

Resist the urge to eat all of the dough before you bake the cookies. It smells amazing (an tastes pretty good too, yes I snagged a bite).

Get in muh belly

Get in muh belly

These cookies are amazing. The flavor is out of this world and they have that perfect “crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside” cookie texture that is oh-so-elusive. This recipe yields about 28 cookies, depending on how large you make them. I tried to make them as uniform as possible but I still managed to get at least on giant and one munchkin cookie.

Brown Sugar Cookies

Brown Sugar Cookies

Ingredients (Recipe adapted from Joanneย Eats Well With Others):

  • 14 T (almost 2 sticks) of unsalted butter
  • 1 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 1/4 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 1 L egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
Brown Butter + Brown  Sugar

Brown Butter + Brown Sugar

How To:

  1. First, brown your butter. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the process, there a great post on Ambitious Kitchenย on exactly how to do that. Basically you just constantly stir the butter over med-low heat until it turns an amber brown color and has a nutty smell. Set aside in a small bowl to cool.
  2. While the butter cools, in a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  3. When the butter is cool (15 minutes or so), pour into a bowl with the 1 3/4 cup of brown sugar and stir until well combined (can be easily done by hand or in a stand mixer)
  4. Add egg, egg yolk & vanilla extract and continue to mix until well blended (almost resembles a thick caramel at this point)
  5. Mix in the dry ingredients in two batches until just combined, should be a thick and sturdy dough.
  6. In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining 1/4 cup of brown and white sugar. Scoop the dough by the tablespoon, roll into a ball, and roll in the sugar mixture.
  7. Bake in an oven preheated to 350F (175C) for 10 minutes until just set around the edges.
  8. Cool on the baking sheet for 2-3 minutes before moving a cooling rack.
  9. Pig out.
So delicious

So delicious

I know I should be a good friend and share the love, but look at these things! I swear I am going to eat the whole batch before work on Monday morning.

Chewy Brown Sugar Cookies

Chewy Brown Sugar Cookies

 

2 thoughts on “Chewy Brown Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

