Kate & Kimi’s Fruit and Veggie Box

Living in Shanghai can be a blessing and a curse when it comes to buying produce. On one hand, it is easy to find most fruits & vegetables in Chinese grocery stores, but on the the other hand you can’t really be sure of the quality. Sure it may look fresh and healthy, but it is full of heavy metals? (hint: probably) Food safety is such a big issue in China with a new food scandal making its way into the news cycle every week. Some days I sit around and dream of joining a CSA and rolling around among my fresh greens and avocados. Well, I found the next best thing!

Imported and local fruits!

Imported and local fruits!

I have mentioned Kate & Kimi a ton of times on this blog (kateandkimi.com). They are one of the best online grocers in Shanghai. You can get a multitude of healthier fruits and vegetables at pretty reasonable prices, or you can find other delicacies like Doritos and chocolate covered almonds. I usually order once a week for my basic vegetable & Greek yogurt needs, but sometimes throw in other staples like canned beans and baking ingredients.

They have several options for these veggie & fruit baskets that vary in size and contents, and I have been wanting to try one out for such a long time. They range from the “Super Juicer” with over 14 kilos of produce, to the “Fruit & Veggie Box” with 8-9 kilos of produce (which is what I ordered). Usually what I do every week is make a meal plan and then order groceries. But this week I decided to order the fruit & veggie box, and thenย figure out a menu. I figured it would be a good chance to incorporate seasonal fruits & veggies into my diet.

Fresh Fruits and Veggies!

Fresh Fruits and Veggies!

Check out all that produce! With a price tag of 255 RMB (41 USD), I would say this box is quite a good deal. They will even throw in fresh herbs for free, which I can’t get enough of.

The Gourmet Fruit & Veggie box includes:

  • 1 large bunch of spinach
  • 1 large bag of mixed lettuce
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 zucchini
  • 2 red onions
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 1 big bag of baby radishes
  • 1 box of okra
  • 5 potatoes
  • 2 boxes of maitake mushrooms
  • 1 box of mixed cherry tomatoes
  • 2 oranges
  • 3 kiwis
  • 5 apples
  • 1 dragon fruit
  • 1 pineapple
  • 1 bag of fresh mint
  • 1 bag of fresh basil
  • 1 bag of flat leaf parsley
I love pineapple.

I love pineapple.

Now all I have to do is figure out how to use all this awesome produce before it goes bad. Also need to figure out how to properly cut a fresh pineapple. Time to start watching youtube tutorials.

Baby Radishes!

Baby Radishes!

Just look at those yummy radishes! I am going to roast them up with some carrots and make a sauce with the fresh mint. I can’t wait.

As soon as I opened the box I started thinking about recipes. I think this might become my new way of doing things. Planning my meals takes a little bit of the craziness out of my life. I feel like things are a little less hectic when I don’t have to run to the store 5 times a week and constantly worry about the next meal. I also really think it helps me to eat healthier. When I have an idea of what I am going to cook I am not tempted to go out and get fast food or street noodles. The one problem I run into with this routine is that sometimes I can fall into a food rut, eating the same or similar meals week after week. This would be a great way to ensure that I am eating healthy and also diversifying.

Cherry Tomatoes!

Cherry Tomatoes!

Getting a box of fresh fruits and veggies delivered every week also supports the smaller farmers around Shanghai that are trying their hardest to keep their water and soil as clean and healthy as possible. I think it is really important to do this, especially with the way the air quality has been lately. The air pollution is something that is totally beyond our control (speaking in the short term), but we can control the food we eat and water we drink, and the sad reality is that while living in China, you have to do anything you can to reduce your exposure to pollutants.

That being said, I highly recommend ordering the fruit & veggie boxes from Kate and Kimi, and maybe slip a chocolate bar or some Milano cookies into your order too, because hey, you gotta live a little.

2 thoughts on “Kate & Kimi’s Fruit and Veggie Box

    • Erin says:

      I don’t have much of an opinion on this. Dealing with bureaucracy here is such a pain, who knows what is really going on. I order from them occasionally, I haven’t had any problems. My understanding is that the vegetables and fruits are ok, just some meat products and those homemade products that have issues. What have you heard?

Leave a Reply

