Green Grape Smoothie [Shanghai Spice]

Green Grape Smoothie

You wanna know what’s really good? Frozen grapes. For some reason I love eating frozen grapes way more than fresh grapes. I guess because they are mainly water, when they freeze they have an awesome texture I just can’t get enough of.

I’m gonna give you a quick recipe for frozen grapes today. I wanted to whip up something intricate and awesome for the blog this weekend, but I have been out of commission all week with a sinus infection (thank you, China’s disgusting air quality), and I’m pretty sure the only food I actually have in the house is frozen grapes a few Greek yogurts.

Green Grape Smoothie [Shanghai Spice]

Frozen Deliciousness

This smoothie is really yummy. The flavor is really mild, a perfect base for tons of add-ins. I went the purist route, making it with just green grapes, bananas, Greek yogurt, almond milk and a sprinkle of cinnamon. You can add oats or flax seeds for a bit more substance, or even peanut butter for an awesome PB&J smoothie.

Green Grape Smoothie [Shanghai Spice]

Green Grape Smoothie

I really love smoothies. I try not to eat them every day, because even though they are healthy, I know they are loaded with sugar (even too much natural sugar can be bad for you). They are basically nature’s milkshake.

This smoothie is a good choice for breakfast or a quick snack because both grapes and bananas are relatively low on the glycemic index, ย meaning they won’t cause a huge spike in blood sugar when eaten in moderation.

Green Grape Smoothie [Shanghai Spice]

SLLLLUUURRRPPP

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 15 frozen green grapes
  • 1 small banana (frozen)
  • 2 large spoonfuls of Greek Yogurt
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup almond milk (depending on how thick you like your smoothie)
  • a sprinkle of cinnamon

How to:

  • Add all ingredients to a blender and pulse to desired consistency
  • Taste and adjust for flavoring (for example add honey if not sweet enough for your taste, mine was perfect)
  • Pig out

Green Grape Smoothie [Shanghai Spice]

Loving my glass jar

This smoothie recipe only makes 1 serving, but could be easily doubled for 2 people. You also don’t have to use frozen fruit. I just like the texture it gives the smoothie, and it prevents me from having to use ice cubes. My freezer doesn’t have an ice maker, because it is the size of a dorm fridge (#China). I also freeze fruit when I see that it might be getting too ripe and before I can eat it, so this is how I use up all my fruit. Smoothies actually don’t even really need recipes they are so easy, but I love this combo so I wanted to share it!

I repurposed this cute glass jar from one of Lizzie’s smoothies that I ordered from Kate and Kimi. It’s a convenient size for a quick snack in the middle of a busy Saturday afternoon of cleaning and laundry (woohoo, adulthood).

Green Grape Smoothie [Shanghai Spice]

Happy Drinking!

Leave a Reply

