Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

I am finally jumping on the winter citrus train, a bit late, I know. I also know that everyone has literally seen 1000 pictures of all types of citrus fruit sliced in half all over blogs and Instagram, but I couldn’t resist the deep pink color when I cut into this grapefruit, so humor me a little!

I got some of the juiciest looking grapefruits I’ve ever seen when I ordered groceries last week (thank you, Kate and Kimi) and I had to make something with them, so the Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread was born.

[Shanghai Spice] Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

I have been so slammed lately, I’ve barely had time to cook, let alone blog. I do feel bad going so long in between posts, but this is a hectic time for me at work, and in life in general. I am just trucking along waiting for March to be over, because once the warm weather starts to come back in Shanghai, brunch season really begins!

Speaking of brunch, this bread would be a great addition to any weekend pit out session. It’s light and fluffy thanks to the Greek yogurt, and it’s got the mild sweet/tart combination of an ultra-ripe grapefruit.

[Shanghai Spice] Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

I used some of the leftover grapefruit juice to make a glaze for the bread, but that easily be left off to keep it a bit more healthy. I just couldn’t let that delicious juice go to waste! This is really more of a dessert than anything, but can make for a good breakfast treat or afternoon snack.

[Shanghai Spice] Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

I adapted this recipe from Soymilk & Honey’s Lemon Yogurt Bread.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups of AP flour
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1 cup sugar (I used 3/4 white and 1/4 brown, because I ran out of white sugar)
  • the zest from 1 large grapefruit, should be between 1 – 2 tablespoons
  • 2 t grapefruit juice
  • 3/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup sunflower oil (any vegetable oil will work)
  • 2 eggs
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 2 t poppy seeds
[Shanghai Spice] Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

How To:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F
  2. Zest an entire grapefruit, then slice into two pieces and juice one half.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.
  4. In a separate, larger bowl, combine the sugar, grapefruit juice, and zest and mix thoroughly with your fingers.
  5. To the sugar bowl, add in the eggs, yogurt, oil & vanilla and whisk until smooth.
  6. Fold in the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
  7. Add poppy seeds and give it a quick stir to combine.
  8. Pour batter into a greased loaf pan and bake for about 50 minutes .
  9. Check after 50 minutes (insert a toothpick, if it comes out clean, it’s done) and continue cooking if not done, checking every five minutes.
  10. Let the bread cool in the pan for 20 minutes or so, then remove from pan and cool completely before slicing.
  11. If desired, add sifted powdered sugar to the remaining grapefruit juice until a glaze consistency is reached, pour over bread before slicing.
  12. Pig out

[Shanghai Spice] Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

I am so ready for the spring and summer to get here! I am over this wet, rainy, smoggy, freezing cold.

Until then, I guess I’ll just continue to stuff my face with baked goods!

[Shanghai Spice] Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

 

8 thoughts on “Grapefruit Poppy Seed Bread

    • Erin says:

      It was super soft, very cake-like. I almost felt guilty eating it for breakfast. By the way, I love your page, such beautiful pictures! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

