Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette [Shanghai Spice]

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galettes

I know I’ve been absent from the land of blogging for several weeks, it has been a bit crazy over here! I don’t know how people post two or more times a week, you guys are the real heroes.

Work was intense at the beginning of March. Every year the company participates in a massive electronics exhibition. It’s kind of my pet project, so between the planning, logistics, and the actual days of the show, I didn’t even have time to cook. I’ve never eaten so many Family Mart baozi in my life. Well, I’m back in the kitchen, and I managed to whip up these beautiful little Lingonberry & Strawberry Mini Galettes while binge watching Bob’s Burgers on Netflix.

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette [Shanghai Spice]

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette

What is a lingonberry, you might ask. Which is exactly what I asked when I was browsing through the Fields website (for all my Shanghai expats, they have some awesome fruit in stock right now). They are little red berries, very similar to cranberries, that are super tart. They are really common in Scandinavian cuisine, usually in the form of jam. I decided to give it a go, and ordered a bag of frozen lingonberries with the express purpose of galette making. When I opened up the bag to give them a try, I found that they were wayyy more sour than I thought they would be, so I added some strawberries to balance it out.

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette [Shanghai Spice]

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette

I made mini galettes because, as you know, I am baking in a toaster oven. Also because you can eat the whole thing and it’s totally fine. You could definitely just make one giant galette with this recipe, whatever works! I am hoping that when/if we move into a new apartment, I can find one with a regular sized oven so I can make cake, pizza, full sized pies, you get the idea.

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette [Shanghai Spice]

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette

I’ve made a savory galette before, and used olive oil to make a short crust. It was really easy and came together so fast, but this time I went full butter for the crust, because nothing is as good as a flaky, buttery pie crust full of fruit. It’s such a summery dessert, maybe if I bake more I can will summer to come faster.

It is getting a little warmer every week, but we had a little cold snap after a few days of rain last week and I felt like I was right back in February. UGH. So over the cold rain, ready for the hot Shanghai summer.

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette [Shanghai Spice]

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette

Ingredients (makes 3 mini galettes):

For the crust:

  • 1 1/4 cup of AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of cold, unsalted butter
  • 3-5 T of cold water
  • 1 egg (for the egg wash)
  • a few pinches of sugar

For the Filling:

  • 300 grams (about 1 1/2 cup) of lingonberries (I used frozen)
  • 1 cup of sliced strawberries
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 T flour
  • 2 T sugar

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette [Shanghai Spice]

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette

How To:

  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, salt & sugar. Cut the 1 stick of butter into cubes, and put in the freezer for a few minutes to get it really cold. Using a pastry cutter (or a fork, like I did) cut the butter into the flour until it is pea sized. Add 3 T of cold water, and mix until the dough starts to form. Quickly bring the dough together with your hands (adding more water, very little by little, if needed), form into a disk, wrap in plastic, and put in the freezer for about 30 minutes.
  • While the dough chills, make the filling! Add the thawed lingonberries, strawberries, lemon zest, flour, and sugar to a small bowl and mix well. Make sure you taste the filling and adjust the sugar if needed, the lingonberries are very tart and you might need more sugar if you like it sweeter.
  • Preheat the oven to 450F (230C). Take the dough out of the freezer and separate it into three pieces. I had to bake the galettes one by one, so if you do too, make sure you put the remaining dough in the fridge while you’re  baking to keep it cold.
  • Roll the dough ball in a circular shape until its about 1/4 inch thick. Place a few spoonfuls of the berry mixture in the center, leaving ample space to the edge of the dough. Fold the edges up around the fruit filling, the more rustic the better!
  • Beat the egg and brush a little onto the dough. Liberally sprinkle some sugar over the galette, and bake for 15 minutes, rotating once if you notice that it is getting too done. When the crust is golden brown and the filling is bubbling, it’s done!
  • If you are baking all three at once in a regular size oven, you might have to increase the baking time by a few minutes, just keep an eye on it.
  • Pig out!

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette [Shanghai Spice]

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette

YUM. Just look at the fruit oozing out of there.

The galette ends up being a little on the tart side, even with the addition of the sweet strawberries. To be honest, I love that. But if it’s not your thing, you should definitely add a huge scoop of vanilla ice cream on top for some extra sweetness.

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette [Shanghai Spice]

Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galette

Happy spring!

4 thoughts on “Lingonberry + Strawberry Mini Galettes

  1. Anne says:

    THIS LOOKS AMAZING!!!!!!! I haven’t tried lingonberries before, but your combination sounds delicious! I will have to try to make these soon!

  2. Connie says:

    These mini galettes are too cute! Almost too cute to eat! I asked myself ” what is a lingonberry” after the first paragraph…then laughed when I saw “What is a lingonberry, you might ask.” :p Beautiful job!

Leave a Reply

