Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies [Shanghai Spice]

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

I am entering one of those phases in life where things are just going right. Everything seems to be falling into place. I feel like these periods might be few and far between, so I am trying to savor every moment. There are some things that I can’t quite share with you yet, but one big thing that I can share is that I’m engaged!

Yes, you heard me right. Shiraz is crazy enough to legally bind himself to me forever. Mwuahahahaha (evil laugh). What better way to celebrate finding your life partner than to bake them cookies? AKA bake cookies while he is at work and then eat 1/2 of them before he’s home.

Brown Butter, Blackcurrant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie [Shanghai Spice]

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie

These cookies are based on a recipe from one of the best food blogs out there right now, Lady and Pups. Her Blueberry Oatmeal cookies are actually the first recipe I ever saw on her blog and I knew that I would make something comparable eventually.

My version uses black currants in lieu of blueberries (with a few other minor changes). Black currants are what kids these days might call a “superfood”, they are loaded with vitamins and antioxidants, and are really delicious when paired with dark chocolate, which is the most super quality. Add in the brown butter and you’ve got a seriously amazing cookie.

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie [Shanghai Spice]

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie

For all my Shanghai people wondering where to get black currants, I got mine (frozen) delivered from Fields.

I have never baked cookies with berries before, and I was slightly worried that they would crumble in my hand or taste like garbage. I am happy to report that there were not crumbly or garbagey, they were delicious! The brown butter adds a caramel taste and chewy texture, the currants keep the cookie moist and bring a great sweet/tart taste that is amazing with dark chocolate.

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies [Shanghai Spice]

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Is it weird that I keep forgetting that I’m engaged? Usually in the middle of referring to Shiraz as my boyfriend, I have to awkwardly morph into the word fiancรฉ . I usually end up saying something like “boyancรฉ“, which I am assuming is the name of a drag show performer somewhere and also the name of my future dog, if it happens to be a boy.

But in all seriousness, I am really happy! We have been through the struggle of long distance a few times, and our home countries are pretty much on opposite sides of the world, but I always felt that it would work out. We’re livin’ the dream ๐Ÿ™‚

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie [Shanghai Spice]

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie

Ingredients (for approximately 20 cookies)

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 splash of vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup of rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup (or however much you want) of chopped dark chocolate
  • 1 cup frozen black currants
Brown Butter, Black Currants & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies [Shanghai Spice]

Brown Butter, Black Currants & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

How To:

  1. In a large sauce pan, melt the butter over med-low heat. Continue stirring constantly until the milk solids have separated and browned, and the butter has a caramel-like, nutty aroma.
  2. Pour the brown butter into a large bowl to cool. Meanwhile, sift together the flour, salt, cinnamon and baking soda in a separate small bowl, and coarsely chop the chocolate.
  3. Add both sugars to the cooled butter, and whisk until smooth. Add the egg and vanilla, whisk again until smooth. Finally, add the flour mix and stir until thick and velvety.
  4. Fold in the rolled oats and chocolate. Lastly, fold in the frozen black currants. The batter should thicken up a bit.
  5. Drop about 1 1/2 tablespoons of batter onto a lined sheet leaving some space between.
  6. Bake in an over that has preheated to 365F for about 10 minutes, until the cookie has browned and the edges are set.
  7. Let cool on the sheet for a few minutes and then remove to a wire rack to finish cooling
  8. Store uncovered and/or pig out

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies [Shanghai Spice]

Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Next week we are off to South Korea! I can’t wait to drink some soju, eat some bibimbap and get lost in the backstreets of Seoul.

If anyone has any good travel advice for Korea let me know!

2 thoughts on “Brown Butter, Black Currant & Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

  1. rbjello says:

    Congratulations on your engagement!!! So happy to hear the wonderful news! ๐Ÿ™‚

    For Seoul, you have to check out the Samcheong-dong area, which is walking distance from the Kyeongbok Palace. It’s a whole windy street full of hip cafes,clothing and jewelry stores.

    Also, I know this sounds ridiculous but I had Krispy Kreme donuts like 3 times while I was there because you can’t get them in Shanghai. They’re in the basement of the Lotte Mall. Have a fun trip and looking forward to reading a blog post about Korea!

    • Erin says:

      Thanks for your kind words!

      Great advice for Seoul. My “boyonce” (haha) is looking for areas just like Samcheong-dong to take pictures. And I, of course, have been looking forward to Krispy Kreme ever since I found out they had it in Korea. Priorities, amirite? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

