Shanghai Spice Pumpkin Pie

Classic Pumpkin Pie

Hello Internet. It’s been awhile.

Lately, I’ve had a bit of a blogging identity crisis. I can’t decide whether or not  I want to keep doing this.  So while work has been hectic and I’ve been settling into my new routine, I decided to give myself a break. I’m not one to write really deep or compelling content on my blog. I kind of look at it as an online recipe box, kind of a treasure trove to what my life has been like in my time as an expat. I go through periods where I cook all the time, and then lulls where I live off steamed buns and rice.

I think if I ever want to get more serious about blogging, I’ll rebrand, get a new name, a sleek custom design, and start really thinking about how to connect with readers. But for now, pie.

Shanghai Spice Pumpkin Pie

 

Believe it or not, I made this pie in my trusty toaster oven. I can barely control the temperature (if you can’t tell by the section of burned crust), and I had to check on this baby once every three minutes, but it turned out surprisingly well.

It’s a pretty classic recipe, I’m not one to mess with traditions around Thanksgiving.

Shanghai Spice Pumpkin Pie

 

People have all kinds of tricks when it comes to pie crusts. Add vinegar for flakiness, use half butter and half shortening, all kinds of stuff. I’m an all butter kind of girl, and it never lets me down.

The filling is so easy to make, it takes all of 2 minutes. It bakes into a nice, fluffy custard filling. The perfect amount of sweetness and spice.

Shanghai Spice Pumpkin Pie

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups of AP flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 3 or 4 T of ice cold water
  • 1 15oz can of pumpkin puree
  • 1 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 t allspice
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 or 2 tablespoons of brown sugar

Shanghai Spice Pumpkin Pie

 

How to:

  1. Cut 1 stick of unsalted butter into cubes, and stick it in the freezer for ten minutes so it’s very cold.
  2. Whisk together the flour and 1/2 t of salt, dump in the cold butter, and either with a pastry cutter or a fork, cut the butter into the flour until there are pea-sized lumps.
  3. Mix in the cold water a tablespoon at a time until the dough comes together in a ball.
  4. Dump the dough onto a floured surface, shape it into a disk and put it in the fridge for at least one hour (can be done one day in advance).
  5. After the dough is chilled, roll it out on a floured surface to about 1/4 inch tick. Place it in a 9 inch pie pan and pull off any overly long edges. Crimp the edges into the design of your choice, and throw it back into the fridge while you make the filling.
  6. Preheat the oven to 425 f , while its preheating, whisk the remaining ingredients together in a large bowl until smooth, and pour into the unbaked pie shell.
  7. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes, and then turn the temperature down to 350 and bake for 30 to 40 more minutes until a knife inserted 1 inch from the crust comes out clean. The center  should still be jiggling just a bit, it will set while the pie cools.
  8. If there is any unbaked crust, cut into the shape of your choice, dust with cinnamon and sugar, and bake for about 8 minutes until just golden brown.
  9. Decorate your pie, and pig out!

Shanghai Spice Pumpkin Pie

 

Notes;

  1. Do not pre-bake the crust, also do not prick the unbaked crust. Just pour the filling directly in the unbaked crust and bake.
  2. You will most likely have to cover the crust with foil about half way through the baking time, or else they will burn.
  3. I added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar to the filling, but if the sweetened condensed milk is enough for you, you don’t need it.

Happy Holidays!

 

3 thoughts on “Classic Pumpkin Pie

  1. rbjello says:

    I totally understand about blogging identity crisis. I went through a break this summer and didn’t blog for like 3+ months. I was going through a weird phase where blogging felt very fake, like “look how wonderful my life is,” when I was unhappy about certain aspects of my life. I started making small changes in my life and blogging again and then realized how much blogging is a piece of my identity and that I like doing it. I hope you do continue blogging though whether it’s on Shanghai Spice or another platform. I really enjoy reading your posts!

    Also, I’m late to the party, but congrats on your recent nuptials! 🙂

    ~Jackie

    • Erin says:

      Thank you so much for the kind words! I appreciate it a lot. I think I’ll probably keep blogging from time to time when the mood strikes, who knows what the future holds!

      I really enjoy your blog as well, always check out the reviews before I pick a new place to try 🙂

Leave a Reply

